As you have probably figured out by now, my name is Mikael Persson Hill. I'm an industrial designer born and raised in the heart of Sweden, in a small village called Färnäs to be more precise.

Ever since I was little I've liked to draw and paint. When it was time to chose the direction of my upper secondary education, I learnt that the high school in my town had a design and product development programme. I felt that this was something I could really see myself doing in the future.
When I graduated from high school I wanted to go directly to a university that taught industrial design. However, my skills back then weren't at the level they required for admission...

So I came to the conclusion that after 12 years in school it would be a nice change of pace to do something different. I got a job at a factory, but I soon realised that it wasn't as appealing to me as design was. I quit my job and applied for a preparatory year at FIDU in Hällefors. I was accepted and spent a year there, greatly improving my skills. This allowed me to get accepted to the BA programme in industrial design at the Mid Sweden University in Sundsvall.

I graduated in 2013 after three exciting years in Sundsvall (I actually only spent 2½ years there, since I did an exchange semester in Germany, at Fachhochschule Aachen, during my second year). Just because I graduated didn't mean I stopped learning things. I like new challenges and to develop myself and my skills. So I occasionally attend some courses in things like CAD (always good to know), economy (not that fun, but useful), concept art (fun and useful) and other things I find amusing and interesting.

Besides design, I'm also very interested in photography and concept art, which you will be able to find some examples of here in my portfolio soon. I also like skiing in a snowy slope on a mountain during the winter, Jiu-jitsu (which I have a black belt in), computers and the occasional gaming night.

Right now I live in the town of Bollebygd, in the southern part of Sweden, with my lovely wife Emmeli, our son Theodor and our two cats. I currently work as a product developer at Fractal Design. But, like I stated earlier, I'm always up for new challenges. So if you would like to hire me, both for a freelance job or a more permanent kind of position, do not hesitate to contact me! You're of course welcome to send me a message regarding other stuff too.

Thank you for stopping by!

Would you like to follow me on social media, another portfolio platform or look at my résumé?
Head over to the links-section.
Do you prefer the browsing style of a magazine more than clicking on separate projects?
Look in the portfolio-section.
Back to Top